If you are around Tokyo, don’t miss the series of live concerts on 15, 16 and 17th of December called ‘Glenn Gould Remodels’ with the participation of Carsten Nicolai (AKA Alva Noto), Christian Fennesz, Ryuichi Sakamoto & FT.

2017 marks the 85th anniversary of Glenn Gould’s birth, the solitary musician who was born in Canada and coincides with the 150th anniversary of Canada ’s Confederation. To commemorate these milestones, throughout 2017, The Glenn Gould Foundation launched several projects and concerts in collaboration with curators and producers around the world.

The Glenn Gould Gathering is the final event to be held at Sogetsu Hall in Aoyama, Tokyo, considered the center of the contemporary art scene of Japan. The event will be curated by Ryuichi Sakamoto, who has admired Gould’s artistry and his unique live performances since his early childhood. 

For more info and tickets go here

FT returns to his first passion with a selection of beautiful, newly composed works for solo piano. ‘Piano Circle Songs’ features award-winning Canadian pianist and songwriter Chilly Gonzales on four of the tracks, of which Gonzales composed “Tryst” himself for the album.

It was important for FT to capture the intimacy of the music in both the recording and the post- production phases. By purposefully placing mics close to the instrument, he wants the listener to experience the sensation of having “their ear inside the piano”.

“I love the beats, I love the constant impulse. The music on ‘Piano Circle Songs’ is the opposite. It’s very intimate, a melodic way of composing that has been largely inspired by the fact I had children. They made me explore a gentler phase of what I could do at the piano, in terms of writing”, FT explains.

The album theme of “circle” reflects the cyclical nature of the pieces themselves; many of the works follow ABA form or extended variations of this. FT also drew inspiration from a chance conversation with Chilly Gonzales and reflections on the behaviour of his children.

FT will perform the music from the album in concert this autumn in Berlin, Munich, London and Paris.


1. Circle Song 3:18

2. This too shall go 4:09

3. Grey Light 4:51

4. Never 4:57

5. All I have 3:45

6. Triangle Song – featuring Chilly Gonzales 3:33

7. Pastoral 4:08

8. Circle Song II 3:23

9. Merl 3:01

10. Circle Song III 3:03

11. Nuria’s Lament 3:33

12. La franciscana 3:41

13. Monologue for two – featuring Chilly Gonzales 3:49

14. Tryst – featuring Chilly Gonzales 3:06

15. Third Haiku – featuring Chilly Gonzales 3:23


FT piano circle songs